How to Track and Grow Your Google Rankings

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- [Neil] Hey everyone, it's Neil Patel.
- [Neil] Hey everyone, it's Neil Patel, and today I'm going to show you how you can track and improve your rankings. (Soft Instrumental music) So the first step is to go to You'll land on a page that looks something like this. And here you can type in anything like a domain name or whatever it may be. And you'll be taken to the Ubersuggest app. Now in this app, if you've already used it, you may be logged in like me. If not, top right here, you can just click the sign-in link. And don't worry what it shows on the screen. Once you sign in, I want you to go to the dashboard. So once you go to the dashboard, I've already created a project that tracks my rankings, but I'm going to show you how you can do it from scratch. And then I'm going to break down how you can improve your rankings as well. So let's create a new project. It's simple, you put in your website name. So let's say I'll put in one of my older companies, Crazy Egg, put in the website name Crazy Egg, you just type out the name. Then you click next. Then you want to pick all the locations in which you want to track rankings. I recommend picking at least three locations, but to keep this video simple, I'm just going to start with one. And I would pick, let's say United States. You can also pick cities as well, so let's say I live in Los Angeles, California, and I want to put Los Angeles. I can just put Los Angeles, California there. Heck, all might as well just have three as well. We get a lot of business from United Kingdom, so I'm going to have United Kingdom. Then I'm going to click next. And if you, you know, when you sign up with, to Ubersuggest it'll connect with your search console account. Now, this data is, so it can help you pre-populate data and help track your rankings better. So then I would pick keywords that I want to track on a daily basis. So some I can pick ones that are already ranked for a copywriting funnel, traveling sites, heatmap, and I can just keep going on and on
And picking ones that are related to my location or more so my business, then you'd want to click next.
and picking ones that are related to my location or more so my business, then you'd want to click next. If there are keywords that you want to track that aren't on this list. So let's say I want to track the keyword digital marketing, you can just type it in there and then just click the right arrow. And then you can just keep adding more and more keywords, then you would click the next button, rank tracking frequency. I recommend tracking daily. The reason you want to track daily is Google makes a bit more than eight algorithm changes per day. It's roughly 3,200 per year. So that comes up to a bit more than eight per day. So by tracking daily rank rankings, you can see what our rooms are really hitting you or impacting you. You also want to track mobile rank tracking, and the reason you want to do mobile rank tracking is think of it this way, more than 50% of searches on Google are mobile. So tracking mobile rank tracking will also allow you to see how you do on mobile versus desktop. And you know, you can select whatever you want there on the Coaching Calls, you can select no here, you don't need help grow in traffic. And then boom, you go to the dashboard and you'll see it load. It takes a little bit for the rank tracking to load. It's not going to be instant. Funny enough that I already started calling, but usually it can take a little bit of time, like five minutes or 10 minutes, but sometimes it'll start tracking right away. I go back to my dashboard and I'll go to, you know, a campaign that's already pre populated, which is the Neil Patel website. So when you're in your dashboard and you're tracking your rankings, you can see like there's down arrows like, what is digital marketing? It will show your rankings over time. And you can do that for any keywords, you can see if you're going down or up, and it'll have like a little green arrow or a down arrow or some things going really down or up. So you can see what's moving, and you can also click right here to see your mobile rank tracking. What you'll notice is your rankings are going to be different on mobile than desktop. So like, as you can see here, search engines went down one, but here on desktop devices search engines just went up one.
How to start a blog went down one, desktop on mobile, how to start a blog.
How to start a blog went down one, desktop on mobile, how to start a blog, I'm actually ranking higher. And you can see I've been flat for a few days, but the reason you on track mobile and desktop is, Google has a mobile-first index. So they rank websites differently on mobile devices than desktop. So you want to track more, and of course, you can see all the locations that you're tracking. Like I'm like, "All right, I live in Los Angeles. "Let's see how we do in Los Angeles." For and you can see, all right for Los Angeles, here's my rankings. You know, and some of them are similar as if you were tracking for any country or worldwide area, but sometimes it ranges depending on the business type you're in. You can do the same for mobile and desktop. Now here's the interesting part I want you to do to grow your traffic. The whole purpose of rank tracking is you want to put in keywords that you already rank for, or that you're targeting. It could be either one or the other. So if you think about this report and let's go back to United States, so it's national, and you can see I'm ranking for a lot of terms, like what is digital marketing, Google AdWords, digital marketing, and the list goes on and on. And you can see the page that is ranking on my website. Ubersuggest will automatically pull that up, so you don't have to worry about putting in your own URLs it will automatically figure out what pages. So here's the page that's ranking for digital marketing. So I'm going to pull that up so you can see, this is the site or more so guide, Digital Marketing Made Simple Step-by-Step Guide. And it breaks down digital marketing and literally like every single aspect of digital marketing, it's pretty thorough. But of course, I can still make it more and more thorough and make it more in-depth and more better. And it's going on and on and on. As you can see, it's pretty popular. There's 914 comments, but this guide isn't as thorough is a lot of the other pieces of content.
If I could make it more thorough. And you've already heard that.
If I could make it more thorough. And you've already heard that, you know, content is key, the more thorough you make your content, the better off you are. Now, I'm not going to tell you to just go add 5,000 word-count to your page, or you're a guy that's already ranking or the ones that you want more traffic for. I'm going to actually show you some of this much more strategic. And that'll get you traffic quicker in a more simpler way. So if you already rank for terms like digital marketing or any terms that you're even trying to go after, what I want you to do is go to the overview report on Ubersuggests and type in that term. And when you type it in. So I typed in digital marketing, you'll get an overview, volume over time, difficulty, and you can do it per region. Heck, you can even do it for a first city. Like if you're targeting Los Angeles, I can type in Los Angeles. But for this case, I'm going nationwide. So I'm typing in digital marketing, and you'll see the traffic over time. How much of that traffic is, mobile versus desktop. As you can see, there's more desktop than mobile. You can see how many people click on it from SEO results. Don't click anything, portion of people that click pay, the age range, and you'll see more keywords based on suggestions, related, here's related questions, prepositions. I can click on questions, prepositions. You see more go back to suggestions. So I want you to click on view all keywords. Now, this is pulling from Google suggest ranking for digital marketing. In essence, in almost all cases, the head terms are more competitive than the long-tail terms, not every single case, but almost every single case. So the majority in essence. What is digital marketing, digital marketing jobs, digital marketing salary, digital marketing company, digital marketing services. Now this page is ranking for digital marketing. If I type in, let's say digital marketing services, as you can see, I don't talk about digital marketing services. Yes, people in the comments may, right? These are comments, but I myself am not talking
About digital marketing services. Within my blog posts, I'm not.
about digital marketing services. Within my blog posts, I'm not. I may talk about terms like what is digital marketing, as you can see here. And if I go back to the Ubersuggest rankings report, I'm going to open the dashboard in a new tab. So sometimes you see a spinning wheel, so just lots of data to pull in, pulls in your site audit, your site errors. But as you can see, I do rank for what is digital marketing. See, what is digital marketing? And based on my Uberservice report, I'm ranking number two and I'm holding pretty steady. If you look here on this keyword ideas or probably suggestions, what digital marketing is, or what is digital marketing? It's the same thing. And I'm ranking for that term, but I'm not ranking for terms like digital marketing services because I'm not including it in my text. If you look here, the CPC, the cost per click is $22.87 cost per click for what is digital marketing is $6 cost per click for digital marketing is $12 digital marketing services. People are paying more money for because it's more valuable. Now I have a ad agency called Neil Patel Digital, right? So for me, if I'm offering digital marketing services, as you can see here, don't you think it would be good for me to also talk about digital marketing services on this page because my corporation offers them. So what you would want to do is if you're already ranking for the head terms, and you can see I'm ranking for digital marketing, ranking number three. Why wouldn't I try to go after all these other longer tail terms, which in most cases are easier to rank for, for the head terms, the head term, being digital marketing, and then modify my content on my website to also be applicable to all those words. So I would go and edit the page and you know, whatever platform you're doing, you would edit it. I'm using WordPress. So if you're logged in, you just click the edit button. We're in WordPress, if not, you would just go into your WordPress and then click on edit and you would adjust the content.
So then what I would do is I would start editing these pieces of pages.
So then what I would do is I would start editing these pieces of pages, these content pages to then include the longer-tail variations. And I would do this for the suggestions tab on the keyword ideas report. I would then do it for the related tab. And you can just find so many keywords. It's never-ending. You know, as you scroll, you wait a little bit and more keywords, keep loading, like literally it's never-ending. And then I'll do it for the popular questions. And then I would do it for the popular prepositions. And then I'll do it for the popular comparisons. Now, if you go in and you modify your content and you adjust it for all of those longer tail variations, and you ideally pick the ones that have a higher CPC that's cost per click. So this is what someone would pay if they're bidding for that keyword in paid ads. Now I know you may not be doing that, but typically if a keyword has a high cost per click, that means it's more lucrative. People are willing to pay more because those visitors for them are converting into customers. So you want to take all of those keywords that have a higher CPC and integrate them within your text, as long as it's relevant. And it makes sense adjust it on there, and then what you can do is, you can go out there and you can end up generating more traffic. And those visitors will be more likely to convert in sales 'cause people are paying higher cost per clicks. So this is a simple hack on what I do to track my rankings and grow my rankings. It's really simple. If you just do this with one page every single week, after a year, you should end up getting double, triple the amount of traffic. 'Cause if you already ranked for popular terms, the long tail variations, like if you look at the word digital marketing, yes, he gets 66, 60,000 searches a month. But all these longer-tail variations, if you add them up, get way more traffic than 60,000, right? 'Cause you can do that for the suggested stuff. Then the related tab and the amount of keywords just continually add up and if you go after
All the ones that are applicable, you'll get more traffic.
all the ones that are applicable, you'll get more traffic. Now, if you have any questions, when you're doing this, just leave a comment below and I'll answer and I'll help you out. If you enjoy this video, like it, share it, subscribe to our channel, tell your friends about it. And if you need help growing your traffic, check out my ad agency, Neil Patel Digital. And thank you for watching. I look forward to helping you grow your traffic.

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